Nominations for the fourth annual Westphal Athletic Awards were announced this Monday. The sixteen awards, celebrating the outstanding athletic contributions, spiritual leadership, and educational achievements of ACU student-athletes, will be awarded at the ceremony on Thursday, May 4 at New City Church, 1300 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004.

The dessert reception and red carpet arrival will begin at 6:30 p.m. and the ceremony will begin promptly at 7 p.m. This is a black tie optional occasion. Purchase your tickets online for reduced pricing! General admission is $10 and ACU students are free when you register online by May 3. General admission at the door is $15 or $5 for ACU students with ID.


List of Nominees:

Female Faith Award:

Charlotte Moore – Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country

Jayci Kelley – Women’s Tennis

Haley Worden – Volleyball

Amber Rayls – Women’s Golf


Male Faith Award:

Brennan Bowen – Football

Gavin Bartlett – Men’s Basketball

Kyle Robbins – Baseball

Antoine Bedard – Men’s Tennis

Matt Jackson – Men’s Golf


Record Breaking Performance:

Sianna Gomez – Softball

Gerrit Groenewold – Football

Jonathan Nunnally, Jr. – Baseball

Domenick Postorino – Men’s Golf


Best Game:

Ashlynn Preciado – Softball

Gerrit Groenewold – Football


Domenick Postorino – Men’s Golf


Best Come-From-Behind Performance:



Men’s Basketball

Women’s Tennis


Service Award:

Allisa Miller – Softball

Sammy Serwa – Football

Zach Vogel – Baseball

Santiago Galeffi – Men’s Tennis


Break-Through Performance:

Jenna Castilleja – Softball

Lawrence Combs – Men’s Basketball

Chris Senna – Men’s Golf

Women’s Basketball


Most Inspirational:

Kyle Shipp – Football

Zach Vogel – Baseball

Mishima Gray – Men’s Basketball

Tony Bedard – Men’s Tennis

Sylvia Renfroe – Women’s Golf


Best Upset:

Women’s Soccer


Seth Moore & Alberto Lapiedra – Men’s Tennis

Women’s Basketball


Comeback Athlete:

Dillon Eaves – Baseball

Alec Hathcock – Men’s Track & Field

Patson Siame – Men’s Basketball

Brenna Bailey – Women’s Volleyball


Best Play:

Paige Church – Softball


Matt Willkomm – Men’s Basketball

Marco Castilla – Baseball

Jada Willingham – Women’s Basketball


Best Team:

Men’s Tennis


Women’s Tennis

Men’s Golf


Coach of the Year:

Chris Tolson – Tennis

Jeff Bowen – Football

Odell Berry – Women’s Basketball

Bryan Altena – Golf

Bill Swift – Baseball


Female Athlete of the Year:

Sianna Gomez – Softball

Marisa Ortiz – Women’s Soccer

Mikayla Morgan – Women’s Tennis

Courtney Christmas – Women’s Basketball


Male Athlete of the Year:

Derek Brush – Football

Alberto Lapiedra – Men’s Tennis

Domenick Postorino – Men’s Golf

Jonathan Nunnally, Jr. – Baseball


Westphal Award:

Brennan Bowen – Football

Mishima Gray – Men’s Basketball

Seth Moore – Men’s Tennis

Charlotte Moore – Women’s Track & Field

Zach Vogel – Baseball