We are pleased to announce that the 2015 Paul J. Achtemeier Award for New Testament Scholarship has been awarded to Andrew W. Pitts (Chair, Biblical Studies Department and Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies, Arizona Christian University) for his paper entitled, “The Genre of the Third Gospel and Greco-Roman Historiography: A Reconsideration.”

Andrew, a member of SBL since 2005, received his Ph.D. from McMaster Divinity College in 2014. He serves as an editor for Early Christianity in its Hellenistic Context (Brill, 2013-present), an ongoing series of edited volumes devoted to advancing understanding of Christian origins.

The goal of the Achtemeier Award is to stimulate the finest and most penetrating work in New Testament studies and to foster the future of biblical scholarship. To that end, the award is given to a member who has completed her/his doctorate within the last ten years. There is a cash award of $1,000. Papers for this award are evaluated on the basis of three categories:

• persuasive thesis that engages the New Testament and demonstrates quality of scholarship and significance in the field,
• clarity of expression and thought, and
• originality and creativity.

The 2015 Achtemeier Award Committee consisted of Warren Carter (Brite Divinity School), and Adela Yarbro Collins (Yale Divinity School), and Laurence L. Welborn (Fordham University).